Scroll back to the top

Steering Committee

Overview: Comprised of 13 faculty members in 9 colleges, the WFN Steering Committee furthers the organization’s mission to encourage and promote the professional development of women faculty. This committee plans, promotes, and hosts formal programming and informal networking opportunities. Past events include seminars with expert speakers, social activities at the University Club, and mentoring and networking luncheons. Annual events include a spring luncheon focusing on meritorious mentoring, and a fall luncheon celebrating newly promoted women faculty.
 
The Steering Committee consists of representatives from each college on the Texas A&M University campus who are selected through annual elections; each member serves a rotating three-year term. There are also three at-large positions and three ex-officio positions: Dean of Faculties, Director of Women's Studies, and Chair of the Faculty Senate sub-committee on the status of women.
Anat Geva

Anat Geva

College of Architecture
Phone: (979) 862-6580
Email: a-geva@tamu.edu

Chanam Lee

Chanam Lee

College of Architecture, Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning
Phone: (979) 845-7046
Email: chanam@tamu.edu

Colleen Petrik

Colleen Petrik

College of Geosciences, Oceanography
Phone: (979) 845-2680
Email: cpetrik@tamu.edu

Denise Woodard (Secretary)

Denise Woodard (Secretary)

College of Education & Human Development, Health and Kinesiology
Phone: (979) 575-1748
Email: denisewoodard@tamu.edu

Derya Akleman

Derya Akleman

College of Science, Statistics
Phone: (979) 845-3141
Email: akleman@tamu.edu

Gabriela Thornton (President)

Gabriela Thornton (President)

The Bush School of Government & Public Service
Email: gthornton@tamu.edu

Jia Wang

Jia Wang

College of Education & Human Development, Educational Administration & Human Resource Development
Phone: (979) 862-7808
Email: jiawang@tamu.edu

Julie Thompson

Julie Thompson

College of Education & Human Development, Educational Psychology
Phone: (979) 845-7423
Email: jlthompson@tamu.edu

Lixian Zhong (Treasurer)

Lixian Zhong (Treasurer)

College of Pharmacy
Phone: (979) 436-0193
Email: zhong@tamu.edu

Michelle Yeoman (Website Manager)

Michelle Yeoman (Website Manager)

College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Veterinary Integrative Biosciences
Phone: (979) 458-9955
Email: yeoman@tamu.edu

Naomi Nagaya

Naomi Nagaya

College of Liberal Arts, Psychological & Brain Sciences
Phone: (979) 458-5513
Email: nagaya@tamu.edu

Nicola Ritter

Nicola Ritter

College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Veterinary Integrative Biosciences
Phone: (979) 862-9175
Email: nritter@cvm.tamu.edu

Theresa Murphrey

Theresa Murphrey

College of Agriculture & Life Sciences; Agricultural Leadership, Education, and Communications
Phone: (979) 458-2749
Email: t-murphrey@tamu.edu