Home > Awards > Outstanding Mentoring Award

Outstanding Mentoring Award

ageva.jpg 2017 Outstanding Mentoring Award Winner - Anat Geva, PhD

Mindy-Bergman-5-1-2017.jpg 2016 Outstanding Mentoring Award Winner - Mindy Bergman, PhD

campbelllisa.jpg 2015 Outstanding Mentoring Award Winner - Lisa Campbell, PhD

2014 Outstanding Mentoring Award Winner - Sue Geller, a Cornell Ph.D. has been at Texas A&M since August 1981 and has been mentoring faculty since 1983, starting with an engineering assistant professor.  Dr. Geller’s mentoring career started with students at Purdue University, where she was an assistant professor. It continued while she was on a research professorship at Harvard, where she was a member of a senior common room (British style dorm housing), and has continued here at TAMU with undergraduate and graduate students as well as many faculty members.  As the first and then only female full professor in math for many years, Dr. Geller has mentored all of the female assistant and associate professors in math, many of the lecturers, and has branched out to other departments, colleges, and even someone in Galveston.  She has also successfully secured research grants and some non-standard grants for undergraduate travel (15K) and summer programs (1.5M).  She's been teased about “give her a few K and she'll ask for a few M”.  Dr. Geller’s current efforts are expanding the math honors program (as Director), attempting to improve the climate for women in math, and getting funding for a big study of early career employment and it's implications for graduate and post-doctoral education in the mathematical sciences.

2012 Outstanding Mentoring Award Winner - Evelyn Tiffany-Castiglioni, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education, Professor and Department Head, was awarded the 2012 Women's Faculty Network Outstanding Mentoring Award for her outstanding mentoring efforts throughout her career.

2010 Outstanding Mentoring Award Winner - Sherry Yennello
Dr. Sherry J. Yennello, professor of chemistry and associate dean for faculty affairs in the College of Science at Texas A&M University, has been selected by the Texas A&M Women's Faculty Network as the recipient of its 2010 Outstanding Mentoring Award. Yennello was formally presented with the annual award recognizing Texas A&M senior faculty members who offer copious time, effort and energy to guide and support junior faculty as part of the WFN Spring Luncheon, held April 22 in the John J. Koldus Building on the Texas A&M campus. Yennello received a commemorative plaque and a check for $500.
"Having seen the hundreds of faculty who have given graciously of their time to mentor younger faculty through the WFN mentoring program, I am honored to have been selected for this award," Yennello said. "The real reward is seeing these young faculty members thrive. I hope that this award will bring more attention to the role all of us can play in helping to integrate new faculty into our community of scholars here at Texas A&M."
Nominees for the award must be associate or full professors who have served as a mentor in the WFN Mentoring Program, a voluntary program in which experienced faculty members are paired with new faculty to aid with the latter group's transition into a new job setting. In addition, award candidates must not have previously received the award within the past five years.
Yennello, whose research in nuclear chemistry is internationally renowned, joined the Texas A&M faculty in 1993. For her efforts in both teaching and research to benefit the university and the state of Texas, she was honored by The Texas A&M University System as a Regents Professor in 2006. Yennello is a member of the Cyclotron Institute as well as a University Faculty Fellow and current chair of the College of Science Diversity Committee. A fellow of the American Physical Society, she also is a member of the American Chemical Society, Sigma Xi and Phi Lambda Upsilon.
"Sherry is a visible example for other female faculty on campus," said Dr. Mary Jo Richardson, Regents Professor of Oceanography, Geology and Geophysics, in a nomination letter for Yennello. "Sherry is a mentor, not only to female faculty at Texas A&M, but to other faculty and research scientists in her disciplines both nationally and internationally through professional organizations."
Dr. H. Joseph Newton, dean of the College of Science, praised Yennello's contributions in the Department of Chemistry and throughout the overall college.
"In addition to being an outstanding chemist, Sherry Yennello has been an extraordinary role model for both women and men chemists in her many mentoring roles," Newton said. "Chemistry is very lucky to have her, and I am very grateful that she has joined my team at the college level to enhance mentoring across the college."
Jarvis Chris